Top Ten Favorite TRAVEL DOCUMENTARIES

Below is a list of my favorite television travel documentaries in the past twenty to thirty years:

TOP TEN FAVORITE TRAVEL DOCUMENTARIES

1. “Long Way Down” (2007) – Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman embarked on their second motorcycle journey, traveling from John o’Groats, Scotland to Cape Town, South Africa; via Europe and Africa. This was a follow-up to their 2004 trip across Eurasia and North America.

2. “Michael Palin: Around the World in 80 Days” (1989) – Inspired by Jules Verne’s 1873 novel, comedian-actor Michael Palin embarked upon a journey around the world within 80 days, without the use of air travel during the fall of 1988.

3. “Long Way Round” (2004) Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman embarked upon their first motorcycle journey in which they traveled from London to New York City, via Eurasia and North America.

4. “David Suchet on the Orient Express” (2010) – As he prepares for an adaptation of Agatha Christie’s famous 1934 novel, actor David Suchet embarks on a journey across Europe on the famed Orient Express train.

5. “Five Takes: Pacific Rim” (2006) – In Season Two of the Travel Channel series, “FIVE TAKES”, five young American “travel journalists” traveled to different countries around the Pacific Rim.

6. “Himalaya with Michael Palin” (2004) – Actor-comedian Michael Palin embarked upon a six-month, 3,000 miles trip throughout the Himalaya mountain range.

7. “Moms on the Road: Africa” (2006) – The BBC America produced this special about eight American mothers who traveled to and explored various countries in Southern Africa.

8. “Sahara with Michael Palin” (2002) – Michael Palin hit the road when he traveled through various countries around the Sahara Desert in Northern and Western Africa.

9. “Jeremy Piven’s Journey of a Lifetime” (2006) – Actor Jeremy Piven embarked upon a journey from Northern to Southern India.

10. “Pacific Journey: Adventures of a Musical Mariner” (1989) – This two-part documentary featured the late composer David Fanshawe’s ten year journey around the southern Pacific Rim, when he documented the music and oral traditions of Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia for his incomplete choral work, “Pacific Odyssey”.

26 Responses

  1. I truly love your blog.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own blog and would like to know where you got this from or just what
    the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  2. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for information about this topic for a while and yours is the best I have came upon so far.
    But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain concerning the supply?

  3. Very energetic article, I enjoyed that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  4. Awesome! Its actually awesome post, I have got much clear idea regarding from this piece of
    writing. http://www.ecoinlist.com/

  5. I believe this is among the such a lot important information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. However want to statement on some general issues, The site style is ideal, the articles is truly excellent : D.
    Just right job, cheers

  6. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours. It is
    pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a
    lot more useful than ever before.

  7. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading
    it, you will be a great author. I will make certain to bookmark your blog and may come back later in life.
    I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  8. I simply couldn’t go away your website prior to
    suggesting that I extremely loved the usual information an individual provide on your visitors?
    Is gonna be back regularly to investigate cross-check new posts

  9. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Very well written!

  10. I have been reading out some of your stories and i must say pretty nice stuff.
    I will definitely bookmark your blog.

  11. This info is priceless. When can I find out more?

  12. Hello there! This post could not be written much better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I will forward this information to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing! http://clariceabreu97217.bcz.com/

  13. Good article. I definitely appreciate this website. Thanks! http://dmitjaiwinstar.com/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=8671

  14. I don’t make it a habit to make comments on many articles, however this one deserves attention.
    I agree with the information you have written so beautifully here.
    Thanks.

  15. You appear to be really professional in the manner you write.

  16. Wonderful post. Didn’t know this, thanks for letting me know.

  17. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that
    he should also go to see this blog on regular basis to obtain updated from hottest information.

  18. I like this site very much. Outstanding info.

  19. I have wanted to write about something similar to this on my webpage and you gave me a good idea.

    Cheers.

  20. Thanks for this; I’m officially a huge fan of your blog.

  21. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such fantastic info being shared freely out there.

  22. Whats up! Excellent article! I find nice the way
    you talked about Top Ten Favorite TRAVEL DOCUMENTARIES .

    This is a nice written post! I favor the thought definitely.

    I will start my own web log just too but I have
    little occasion. Stemming from your purpose All of us can’t or even craft those written documents in addition activities with respect
    to university or college.
    It creates yours truly shop for records furthermore works
    through a mixture of manufacturers. If you find yourself
    concerned about keep in mind this, look for a handful of
    review articles following this approach relationship
    bit.ly. The web page comes armed with your work look for a sound composition provider

  23. Hey there! Excellent posting! I appreciate strategy that you outlined Top Ten Favorite TRAVEL
    DOCUMENTARIES . Awesome web site and decent material!
    It is obvious that their author is actually knowledgeable is definitely a fabulous knowledge of writing articles.

    Would you pay plenty of while self-cleaning .
    advice about it is possible to gain writing ability?
    Along with unpleasant as a writer and additionally it’s certain bothersome considering tutors within our higher education all the time offer content
    creation work opportunities .
    However, there is tips to repair your own personal details.
    Within the for more info ibotube.com you will find a domain containing stated evaluation of internet report copywriting online businesses.
    You can pick one that is perfect for you together series a real card stock you choose

  24. Great web site. Plenty of helpful information here.
    I am sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thanks in your effort!

  25. Good day! Terrific post! I really enjoy strategy that you
    described Top Ten Favorite TRAVEL DOCUMENTARIES .
    This web site is top class! I will be satisfied it I’ve discovered it.
    Virtually all content intriquing, notable and savvy
    .
    Opting for have a relatively capability! I wish to end up as good by writing you will,
    but nonetheless , it’s in no way very own cup of tea .
    But there is however best ways to reduce this condition. Any time you click this site best dissertation writing service uk review
    you’ll find a web page together with beautiful records of
    online material marketing providers. You can select the one which is the best for you and also organization a new card stock you need

Leave a Reply

