“SUPERMAN RETURNS” (2006) Review

002a8f9f

Although the 2006 summer movie season had passed three days ago, I had recently watched one of its movies – “SUPERMAN RETURNS” recently and have decided to post my opinion on it:

 

“SUPERMAN RETURNS” (2006) Review

I wish I could say that I had loved “SUPERMAN RETURNS”. I wish I could say that I found it very original. I wish I could . . . but I cannot. Because I would be lying if I had said so. Do not get me wrong – “SUPERMAN RETURNS” is a pretty good movie. But it also turned out to be something of a disappointment for me.

First of all, I felt that it was a big mistake on Singer’s part to carry on the story after SUPERMAN II” (1981). It was bad enough that he had re-used John Williams’ score and Marlon Brando’s image as Jor-El. But he also used plot lines from “SUPERMAN”(1978). He rehased the following:

*Lois’ rooftop meeting with Superman, followed by a flight over Metropolis

*Some of Chris Reeves’ dialogue

*Lex Luthor’s plot to destroy part of the U.S. for a land swindle (which was not handled very effectively).

Singer also borrowed the love triangle from “SPIDER-MAN 2” . . . but with only a few twists.

In the end, I could not tell whether the movie was a sequel to SUPERMAN II or a remake of SUPERMAN. Very confusing and very disappointing. Although it was a pretty good movie with a first-class cast, it was also the most unoriginal comic book hero flick I have ever seen. Singer could have done better. I rated the movie a “B-“.

Leave a Reply

